About us


Everyone in Aotearoa can and does eat well and leads an active life.

We know that many people, communities and organisations share a similar vision.

To strengthen these voices ANA’s purpose is to connect people and organisations engaged in the cause of improving the nation’s nutrition and physical activity. We do this by linking our members and the wider public health nutrition and physical activity workforce to news, events, research, and resources.

Our vision will be realised as we:

  • increase our collective understanding of what works to promote healthier lifestyles
  • inspire the development, delivery and evaluation of health promotion activities based on evidence and best practice
  • transform the places where New Zealanders live, learn, work and play into settings that support healthy eating and regular physical activity.

Our Organisational Values


Teamwork and collaboration



To view our latest Annual Report please select ANA Annual Report 2019 and to read our 2018 Annual report select here

Our 2020 Annual Website and ANA Focus newsletter evaluation can be viewed here

Our History

In 1993, the National Heart Foundation of New Zealand, the Cancer Society of New Zealand, Te Hotu Manawa Māori, the New Zealand Dietetic Association and the New Zealand Nutrition Foundation saw an opportunity to combine and strengthen their voice on public health nutrition issues. The establishment of Agencies for Nutrition Action – Ngā Takawaenga Hāpai Kai Hauora (ANA) in 1996 was the outcome of these discussions.


Since then ANA’s work has grown, with the promotion of physical activity being added to our mandate.  In November 2016 ANA was re-named as Activity and Nutrition Aotearoa to better reflect our role in promoting physical activity.


Member subscriptions along with funding from the Ministry of Health for specific projects fund our work.


Over time our membership has expanded. Our members are committed to the cause of improving nutrition and physical activity in Aotearoa. See a full list of our members.